I’m an Alien

Ini adalah lirik dari sebuah lagu. Masih ingat ?.


I don’t drink coffee I take tea my dear, I like my toast done on one side
And you can hear it in my accent when I talk, I’m an Englishman in New York
See me walking down Fifth Avenue, A walking cane here at my side
I take it everywhere I walk, I’m an Englishman in New York

I’m an alien I’m a legal alien, I’m an Englishman in New York
I’m an alien I’m a legal alien, I’m an Englishman in New York

If, “Manners maketh man” as someone said, Then he’s the hero of the day
It takes a man to suffer ignorance and smile, Be yourself no matter what they say


I’m an alien I’m a legal alien, I’m an Englishman in New York
I’m an alien I’m a legal alien, I’m an Englishman in New York

Modesty, propriety can lead to notoriety, You could end up as the only one
Gentleness, sobriety are rare in this society, At night a candle’s brighter than the sun
Takes more than combat gear to make a man, Takes more than a license for a gun
Confront your enemies, avoid them when you can, A gentleman will walk but never run

If, “Manners maketh man” as someone said, Then he’s the hero of the day
It takes a man to suffer ignorance and smile, Be yourself no matter what they say

I’m an alien I’m a legal alien, I’m an Englishman in New York
I’m an alien I’m a legal alien, I’m an Englishman in New York

Sepotong lagu dari Sting ini didedikasikan kepada saya dari seorang sahabat di kantor – secara unik disampaikan untuk menggambarkan diri saya. ( No offense bro, I like it).

Baru baru ini juga – sewaktu presentasi didepan Pemegang Saham dalam sebuah assesment, sewaktu ditanya apakah saya mengikuti sebuah organisasi ?, malah jawaban datang dari salah satu Direktur saya yang mengatakan kepada penguji bahwa saya terkenal sebagai pegawai yang independen dan tidak punya kelompok.

Hmm, what do they mean ?. but whatever they mean, it doesn’t matter.

Yang saya rasakan sewaktu menjadi ‘alien’, saya merasa sangat bebas sewaktu berbicara kepada siapapun. Saya merasa bebas makan siang dengan siapapun, saya merasa bebas berpendapat apapun, saya merasa bebas datang dan pergi sesukakupun, dan yang saya suka, siapapun dapat menerima saya dimanapun. Sampun.

As a matter of fact, I love to be an Alien, I love to be independent, and I love to be diffferent. Because it makes me a free man. I fell free. I’m free …. .

Now, who wants to be free…? Follow me, and do it my way …. !

(c)Papario, April 2007

 

 

Tinggalkan Balasan

